This calendar lists all of the readings, assignments, and activities for the class. Remember that material needs to be read, and assignments completed prior to the class meeting they are listed for. For your convenience, I list the information for the upcoming class meeting at the top of the page, but consult the full schedule below to get a sense of what’s coming up in the weeks ahead.

NEXT CLASS:

This semester is over! You can find all our class readings below!

Monday August 29

  • Read:
  • Class Activity: Intro and syllabus
  • Assignment Due:

Wednesday August 31

  • Read:
    • 'Writing the History of the Internet' (on D2L)
  • Class Activity: Discuss class goals
  • Assignment Due:

Friday September 2

  • Read:
  • Class Activity: Discuss Reading from Wednesday and revisions to the syllabus
  • Assignment Due:

Monday September 5

  • Read:
  • Class Activity: LABOR DAY
  • Assignment Due:

Wednesday September 7

Monday September 12

  • Read:
  • Class Activity: Review snark essay and discuss the genre of 'snark.' What makes it effective? What invites the reader to share the author's disdain? Extra-credit assignment describe another genre of blog post, convince me to allow you to use it for the genre assignment. Extra-credit assignment: find a CC licensed image of a famous artwork and make a snarky comment about it.
  • Assignment Due: Revised theory of writing

Wednesday September 14

  • Read:
    • 'Henry Jenkins, 'Quentin Tarantino's Star Wars? (in 'Social Media Reader' on D2L)
  • Class Activity: Discuss the power of remix. According to Jenkins, what makes this format so valuable? What draws people to remix and mash-up existing art?
  • Assignment Due:

Friday September 16

  • Read:
    • Larry Lessig, 'Remix' (in 'Social Media Reader' on D2L)
  • Class Activity: Discuss the legal battle over remix. Why does traditional copyright present a problem for remix artists? Where do we think the line should be drawn? What control should be given to authors, and what should be given to the public?
  • Assignment Due:

Monday September 19

Wednesday September 21

Friday September 23

  • Read:
  • Class Activity: Discuss remixes discovered by the class.
  • Assignment Due: Discover a remix (any remix) you find effective and post to D2L. Come to class ready to discuss how it succeeds in communicating a new idea to its audience by transforming an existing work, and how it might be improved.

Monday September 26

Wednesday September 28

  • Read:
  • Class Activity: Remix concept workshop
  • Assignment Due: Come to class with an idea for your remix project (or, if you aren't doing the remix, come ready to review your classmates ideas and give advice)

Friday September 30

  • Read:
    • Astra Taylor, Chapter 2 of 'The People's Platform' (On D2L)
  • Class Activity: Discussion of the limits of a Remix economy. How do creators get paid?
  • Assignment Due:

Monday October 3

  • Read:
  • Class Activity: Remix presentation day
  • Assignment Due: Completed Remix Due (if you are doing the remix project)

Wednesday October 5

  • Read:
    • Clay Shirky, 'Gin, Television, and the Cognitive Surplus' (In 'Social Media Reader' on D2L)
  • Class Activity: Why does Clay Shirky believe the internet will allow people to make better use of their “cognitive surplus?” Suppose Shirky is correct about this, what's one likely impact of this greater use of our intellectual talents?
  • Assignment Due:

Friday October 7

  • Read:
  • Class Activity: Discuss Reagle's introduction to Wikipedia. What did you learn about Wikipedia that you did not know before? How will this new knowledge change how you interact with the encyclopedia? What aspects of the Wikipedia culture Reagle describes do you think will be important to remember as you edit Wikipedia?
  • Assignment Due:

Monday October 10

  • Read:
  • Class Activity: FALL BREAK
  • Assignment Due:

Wednesday October 12

  • Read:
  • Class Activity: Discuss the Five Pillars. How do they reflect the Wikipedia culture described in Reagle? Create Wikipedia user pages. Practice editing.
  • Assignment Due: Create an account on Wikipedia before class (do so even if you aren't going to do the Wikipedia project, as we'll all do some smaller practice edits)

Friday October 14

  • Read:
    • Yochai Benkler, 'Sharing Nicely, On Shareable Goods and the Emergence of Sharing as a Modality of Economic Production' (In 'Social Media Reader' on D2L)
  • Class Activity: Discuss Wikipedia as an example of the “sharing” described by Benkler. How does Wikipedia meet the criteria of a “shareable good?” What does Wikipedia’s “shared” production mean for Wikipedia? Clay Shirky thinks the “cognitive surplus” could unleash enough human creativity to create many more free, shared resources like Wikipedia. What do you think?
  • Assignment Due: Try at least 2 activities in the Community Portal "Help Out" Section

Monday October 17

  • Read:
  • Class Activity: Discuss Wikipedia article plans
  • Assignment Due: Submit your wikipedia article plan to d2l (if you are doing the wikipedia assignment). Otherwise, come to class ready to discuss your classmates' plans

Wednesday October 19

  • Read:
  • Class Activity: Discuss wikia. What did you find out about a fan community on Wikia? How does the fan community you looked at differ from Wikipedia? How is it the same?
  • Assignment Due:

Friday October 21

  • Read:
  • Class Activity: Discuss how collaboration arises from sites like 4chan and creates movements like anonymous. How does the language use on sites like 4chan shape the movements that arise there? What sorts of communications help anonymous work collaboratively, even though none of the members know each other in person?
  • Assignment Due:

Monday October 24

  • Read:
  • Class Activity: Wikipedia editing work and assistance day. Come to class ready to work on your wikipedia editing projects
  • Assignment Due:

Wednesday October 26

  • Read:
  • Class Activity: Discuss Paling's article. If collaborative projects like Wikipedia are a big part of how we compose online, and these projects may be hostile to women and minorities, what does this mean for us, as we try to achieve our own goals as online writers?
  • Assignment Due:

Friday October 28

  • Read:
  • Class Activity: Wikipedia project presentations
  • Assignment Due: Wikipedia project final edits Due

Monday October 31

Wednesday November 2

Friday November 4

Monday November 7

  • Read:
    • Play one of the games listed below for at least 1 hour. You can also substitute another game with procedural content (minecraft, NMS, FTL, etc)
    • Spelunky
    • Prom Week
    • Nethack
    • Crossy Road
  • Class Activity: Discuss our experiences with these games. What did we think of the algorithmic content they provided? What possibilities did using an algorithm to compose levels, environments, etc, open up for the game maker? What critiques do we have of algorithm generated content? What makes it persuasive, compelling, or interesting? What makes it unpersuasive or boring?
  • Assignment Due:

Wednesday November 9

Friday November 11

Monday November 14

  • Read:
  • Class Activity: Twitter bot plans workshop/discussion
  • Assignment Due:

Wednesday November 16

Friday November 18

Monday November 21

  • Read:
  • Class Activity: Final project introduction
  • Assignment Due:

Wednesday November 23

  • Read:
  • Class Activity: THANKSGIVING
  • Assignment Due:

Friday November 25

  • Read:
  • Class Activity: THANKSGIVING
  • Assignment Due:

Monday November 28

  • Read:
  • Class Activity: Student Twitter-Bot Presentations
  • Assignment Due: Twitter bots complete

Wednesday November 30

  • Read:
  • Class Activity: Final project proposal workshop
  • Assignment Due:

Friday December 2

  • Read:
  • Class Activity: TBA Catching up and overflow
  • Assignment Due:

Monday December 5

  • Read:
  • Class Activity: Final project conferences
  • Assignment Due:

Wednesday December 7

  • Read:
  • Class Activity: Final project conferences
  • Assignment Due:

Friday December 9

  • Read:
  • Class Activity: Final project conferences
  • Assignment Due: